Alfie Bloom

The Alfie Bloom series follows the story of a boy who inherits a castle and discovers that he has an ancient magic hidden inside him. A magic which others seek, but is very dangerous to use. Across the series of books, Alfie and his family and friends must protect his inheritance from dangerous forces. Fortunately, Orin Hopcraft the last of the great druids, Caspian Bone the shapeshifting solicitor, and Artan the flying bearskin rug are around to lend a hand!

The Alfie Bloom series has been translated and published in: The United Kingdom, Germany, France, Poland, The Czech Republic, Turkey and the USA.

The books, in order:


Alfie Bloom and the Secrets of Hexbridge Castle

Alfie Bloom’s life is dull and lonely, until the day he meets the mysterious Caspian Bone and learns of his incredible fortune. Alfie is heir to a castle full of wonders that has been sealed for centuries. And so begins a life beyond his wildest dreams. But deep below the castle lies its darkest secret, one that Alfie must protect at all costs, or risk losing everything.

Read an extract or Buy the book


Alfie Bloom and the Talisman Thief

Alfie Bloom’s new life has come with new dangers. When Ashford the butler is kidnapped in the middle of the night and the castle comes under siege from a terrifying magical enemy, it’s up to to Alfie to defend it.

Trapped inside with only his twin cousins and best friend Amy, Alfie knows he must take on the intruders and defend his inheritance. Because if he doesn’t, the world will never be the same.

Read an extract or Buy the book


Alfie Bloom and the Witch of Demon Rock

When Alfie Bloom travels back to the 1400’s to begin his training with Orin Hopcraft, last of the great druids, he begins to understand the true power and dark lure of the magic that he guards. When those around him begin to fall victim to a creature of shadows, Alfie must undertake a quest to find the one person who can help them – the witch of Demon Rock.

Buy the book

What people are saying about Alfie Bloom:

“Alfie Bloom contains elements that in some ways almost make it read as a homage to the great children’s writers and books of the past, in the best possible way.”

“Middle grade fantasy adventure at its very best, and I can’t wait to read the sequel.”– THE BOOK ZONE 4 BOYS

“A cracking read for anyone who loves a magical adventure.” – THE SUNDAY EXPRESS
“With elements of Blyton, Dahl and Nesbit in the mix, a thoroughly likeable and decent protagonist, a well-realised and enticing world, and a satisfying, meaty story with the sense of more to come, this series should get a lot of kids happily hooked, and agog for the second to appear.” – Imogen Russell Williams Book of the Week, MIDDLE GRADE STRIKES BACK

“This is the kind of book that will appeal to Potter heads, but also to a wider audience who want a fantasy fix without the surrounding hype.” – Francesca Del Mese, ARMADILLO MAGAZINE

“This book has a little of everything, time-travel, magic, mystery and an enigmatic butler! It is a satisfying story of good versus evil and little verses big that will resonate with young readers. The characters are affable and adventurous and the well-paced story-telling will keep you hooked to the end.” – BOOKTRUST

“Gabrielle Kent has crafted a finely woven mash-up of some of the best known children’s literature and created her own excellent adventure.”  – Book of the Week, MINERVA READS, BOOK BLOG

“I read the Prologue very quickly and thought it was BRILLIANT! So much so I actually exclaimed ‘Brilliant’ out loud. Luckily no one was around to hear me…” – Sue Chambers, Finchley Road WATERSTONES